Students to Vote for ASGCC Leaders

Next week’s student government elections will allow students to have a greater voice on environmental issues, spring break, ethnic holiday celebrations and other campus decisions, ASGCC President Francisco Aguilar said.

Students will choose among 37 candidates for 11 positions. Presidential candidates include Elsa Abedi, Shanelle A. Dandy and Christine Ovasapyan.

The elections are scheduled for Tuesday and May 20 from 9 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. and from 5:30 p.m. to 9:30 p.m. in Plaza Vaquero.

Student voters need a photo ID and to have paid their student activities fee.

“To be a leader you have to be calm, collected… At the same time, have a backbone,” said Aguilar, an economics major transferring to UC Santa Cruz.

He also encourages future student leaders to find mentors on campus, as he did. His ideal student government would help students of diverse backgrounds and interests.

“We’re here to serve you,” Aguilar said.

About 1,300 students voted in the Spring 2014 elections and 1,500 voted in the Fall 2014 elections, Tzoler Oukayan, student activities coordinator, said.

On Tuesday, several students said they do not plan to vote.

“I do not know any of the candidates. I am not into ASB [Associated Student Body] or any of that stuff,” said Zully Villalobos, 19, nursing major.   

Others have a personal connection to the elections.

“I have a friend that is running and I want to help her out,” said Nico Amador, 22, a communications major.

A candidates forum is scheduled for Thursday from 12:30 p.m. to 1:30 p.m. on the bookstore patio.